Claremont Trio 2014-1

Experience Musical Excellence at the JCCGW

Polinger Artists of Excellence Concert Series

The JCCGW presents its 44th season of rising stars and renowned artists in the 2015-2016 concert series that will delight and inspire. Join us for magnificent chamber music favorites by Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, and Dvorak. Musicians perform in the Gildenhorn/Speisman Center for the Arts’ intimate Kreeger Auditorium.

Click Here to Purchase 2015-2016 Subscriptions

Click here for our 2015-2016 Brochure

The New Orchestra of Washington (NOW) Concerts

The JCCGW is pleased to announce a partnership with the New Orchestra of Washington (NOW) to present exciting chamber orchestra programs in the Kreeger Theater for the 2015-2016 season.  Founded in 2012 by rising stars of the Washington area’s professional community, NOW’s mission is to make music relevant to new generations of audiences through virtuosic performances that combine a diversity of genres with fresh interpretations of classic works.

Questions about concerts at the JCCGW? Contact us!

“Essences” With Violist Marcus Thompson Sunday, March 6th
Jennifer Koh & Shai Wosner, Violin + Piano Sunday, March 13th
Orli Shaham, Piano Sunday, April 10th
Claremont Trio, Piano Trio Sunday, May 1st

new orch wash loto

The New Orchestra of Washington (NOW) Concerts

For this special program, the New Orchestra of Washington (NOW) has commissioned a viola concerto from award-wining American composer Elena Ruehr. The soloist will be distinguished violist, Marcus Thompson.  In addition, two major composers from the past come to life, recast in imaginative new colors and set beside one of the shining lights of contemporary American music.  The evening includes a pre-concert lecture by composer Joel Phillip Friedman and a post-concert reception.

PÄRT Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten by Arvo Pärt
RUEHR Concerto for Viola and Strings by Elena Ruehr
BIZET-SCHEDRIN Carmen Suite for strings and four percussionists by Bizet-Schedrin

Click here for a video

 “the collaboration was nothing short of brilliant”  (Independent)

Polinger Artists of Excellence Concert

With their Bridge to Beethoven project, dynamic violinist Jennifer Koh and virtuoso pianist Shai Wosner continue their recent partnership, exploring the impact and significance Beethoven has had on contemporary composers, not only as a cornerstone of classical music but as a universal, culture-crossing source of inspiration.

BEETHOVEN Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 12, No.3
CHEUNG New work in conversation with Beethoven Op. 96
BEETHOVEN Sonata in G Major, Op. 96

Click here for a video

About the Bridge to Beethoven Project

Orli Shaham, Piano

Sunday, April 10th
7:30 p.m.

Purchase Tickets

“a daringly forceful interpretation”  (New York Times)

Polinger Artists of Excellence Concert

A consummate musician recognized for her grace, subtlety and vitality, Orli Shaham has established an impressive international reputation as one of today’s most gifted pianists, hailed by critics on four continents.

BACH Partita in B-Flat Major, BWV. 825
SCHOENBERG Six Little Pieces, Op. 19
BRAHMS Six Pieces, Op. 118
SCHUBERT Impromptu in G-Flat Major, Op. 90, No. 3
SCHUMANN Romanze in F-Sharp Major, Op. 28, No. 2
BRAHMS/DEAN Four Pieces, Op. 119 / Hommage a Brahms

Click here for a video

Claremont Trio, Piano Trio

Sunday, May 1st
7:30 p.m.

Purchase Tickets

“one of America’s finest young chamber groups” (Strad Magazine)

Polinger Artists of Excellence Concert

The first winners of the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award and the only piano trio ever to win the Young Concert Artists International Auditions, the Claremont Trio is sought after for their thrillingly virtuosic and richly communicative performances.

HAYDN Piano Trio in C Major, Hob. XV:27
DVORAK Piano Trio in E Minor, Op. 90, “Dumky”
SCHUBERT Piano Trio in B-Flat Major, Op. 99

Click here for a video